Twins by the light of the moon!

Last night Elnora Jacob went into labor.  I found her scratching around (nesting) and all sunk in (dropped) and pushing while squatting (preliminary pushing) at 7 p.m. and thought to myself, “Okay, an hour and…” (forgetting that this is ELNORA here, and an hour is just not ever her schedule!)  She is circumspect: every little bit of fluid that comes out the rear has to be consumed, all evidence destroyed (in the wild, the smell of that birth fluid means easy prey!).  And she needs to rest, come over to me for back rubs, nest some more, rest some more…Finally at 11:30, worried (though I shouldn’t have been) I did a quick check to find two legs and a nose in the birth canal, so I went in the house for a cup of tea and another allergy pill (tree season).  Came out, she had a bubble out…more fluid, more lapping up; another bubble: more fluid, more lapping up; another bubble: more fluid, more lapping up.  (Could she be like me who had no fewer than four water sacks around the baby?  Doctor got a stick, broke one, said “Gottcha!…nooo–stab–gottcha, more water, …no….stab–gottcha, more water…no…stab…finally! EAch time Niagara Falls!)  Anyway, around 12:30, finally, she pushed out a BIG (for her: her usual is four pounds) 7-1/2 pound baby boy, too dark to sell for breeding stock; and a bit later, another 7-1/2 pounder, this time a girl, with a funky eyepatch (who knows; maybe she’ll turn out pretty?  I have my doubts!  Probably more freezer lamb.)  Anyway, I was in the house by 1 a.m., having watched both babies get up and nurse.  In bed by 1:10 a.m., slept til 6, thinking of going back to bed now, having done morning chores.  The second baby was politically incorrect, having pooped in her amniotic fluid, which means she was a lovely shade of yellow/brown when she came out. Mother was busy most of the night, trying to get her whitened up.  She’ll be wet for most of the day, while mother gets her totally clean.  Both babies were bouncing around this morning, and mama was famished.  Here’s a photo of the twins:

dsc00144-medium-web-view.jpg

3 Responses to “Twins by the light of the moon!”

  1. gillian Says:

    Some people like the ones with more dark, You never know.

  2. gillian Says:

    Wait a second. I just realized that both of Elnora’s twins were bigger than my twin brother and I were. Man oh man, new respect for these sheep….

  3. Gerrie Says:

    So very adorable. Are you getting enough sleep? : )

Leave a comment