What an amazing actress!

Last night we went to see “The Iron Lady” which has returned to a local theater after Meryl Streep won best actress for her portrayal of Margaret Thatcher. Now, I have to tell you, I have very little interest in the life of Margaret Thatcher.  BUT, to see Meryl portray her at 40, 60, and 80; to see her change the way she held herself, walked, even wrote at the various ages; to see her portray the various symptoms and stages of dementia with grace and dignity: the fear of losing one’s mind, the joy of the “return” of loved ones long gone, the confusion, the denial…all things I saw in my mother in law not so many years ago…she is one great actress.  The film itself did nothing for me, but her character study was remarkable and well worth the price of admission. I’m glad we went to see it.

Our time at the Red Lion was lovely, despite having learned when we arrived that they now close the dining room on Mondays and Tuesdays. Had they told us that when we reserved, we would have waited a day. The time we went could easily have been changed.  It was a great disappointment to not dress for dinner, which would have looked ridiculous in the tavern. They tried to make it up to us. The chef sent salads out to us which we hadn’t ordered, but of course, it was full of stuff we wouldn’t eat so we sent them back. He offered to sent appetizers, and I had to explain to the server that we didn’t like all that fancy food, came to the place primarily because a)we could dress for dinner without feeling like freaks (might as well rub it in, huh?) and b) because although the chef could keep up with any chef in the world in terms of creative, herby, saucy, food, he, of all of them had the decency and smarts to realize that some people liked plain food and always included one or two plain meals on the menu…so please thank him for us, but we really don’t want all the fancy foods! We don’t like them.  Hopefully, we didn’t hurt his feelings but there is no point in wasting all that “good” food.  Despite the disappointment, we had a lovely time.  And we can dress up for dinner net year, assuming we are still alive and mobile, and at this point, I have no reason to believe we won’t be.

I am starting the countdown to shearing and lambing. I’ve gotten all my lambing supplies together. For awhile I couldn’t find the rubber bands and applicator for castrating, which I don’t do often, but when it’s needed, it’s needed…but I found it in the barn, rusted, so I guess I’ll need to get a new applicator when I’m at the grain store next week.  Everything else is there. I do need to stop at the vet and get some needles for CDT shots.  I made three great vats of soup which are now in the freezer, for it is the custom that all at shearing are invited for lunch, and so far, that’s 12.  I still have sandwiches, bread, dessert to make, but can’t do that until the day before.

AND, on Sunday, six people are coming for sauerbraten and kartoffelkloesse (second time this year!)  So, today, I have to stop and get a chuck roast and put it in the marinade, where it has to stay for five days before cooking it.  As you can see, it will be a busy week cooking. AND I still have 1-1/2 pounds of roving to spin before the 20th, to keep to my discipline of having to give away any fiber that is not spun by shearing!  I don’t think it will be a problem to finish before the 20th.

The weather here is rather insane, in the 60’s, they say, for the next 10 days or so.  And as of today, no rain for the five days before shearing. THat would be great if it really happens. I wouldn’t have to shut the sheep in the barn and have them eat over each other, meaning hay in the fleeces.  We shall see. Usually, there is rain 2 or 3 days before shearing, so they are in the shed for those days until shearing.

Today, I go to help Lasell with shearing for the afternoon. Saturday, Vicky and I go to help Lise with her shearing. Tis the season. Enjoy the sunshine. I have to find a short sleeved shirt and dress in layers for this afternoon, I think!

 

Leave a comment