Not goats?!

For years I’ve both railed against how bad goats smell and been drawn to Nigerian Dwarf goats, the milky strain, rather than the meaty strain…which, of course, makes no sense.  My husband would say, “That’s not logical,” to which I most often reply, “Okay, what’s your point?”  Logic is not high up there in my motivational excuses department.

Anyway a friend up north a bit has some baby Dwarf Nigerian doelings, who would be a lovely addition to the farm and provide milk for the growing pigs each year (assuming I could figure out how to milk them, and get them to cooperate.  They are small.  They are probably, like all goats, escape artists…and they do smell, except I have been there and the smell was nothing like the smell I get bombarded with at friends’ farms where there are saanens and nubians, that goat smell you can’t shower away, something I really don’t wish to be perfumed with for the rest of my farming days.  So, between now and Thursday, when I go up to see these little urchins, I need to research the whole subject.  (I am reminded that 10 years ago, when I was still a very short time from my almost lifetime position of president of the mythical American Doghaters Association, I fell in love with my border collie, in much the same way: circumstances put her in front of me, and she and I connected.  It feels the same way with these goats, but I will wait til Thursday and give them the sniff test again, and …who knows, next week, I may be the proud mother of a couple of little doelings.  (and bottle feeding, not my idea of fun; need to factor that in.)

Tonight our next big snowstorm is to start, continuing throughout the day tomorrow, if the weather guys can be believed.  Sure smells like snow out there.  Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Not goats?!”

  1. skepweaver Says:

    Have you lost your mind?

    S. ;-)

  2. Candy Says:

    Do you make soap? Then you have another place for your milk. Good luck with your decision!

    Candy

  3. gillian Says:

    Goats! as Skepweaver says, have you lost your mind??!!! How much time have you spent explaining to people that your shorn Jacobs are not goats and are, in fact, much superior to them?

    Blech. Daily milking, double blech. Goat chewing fences, blech blech blech

  4. patchworkfibers Says:

    I had goats for bit – registered Nubians. The does didn’t smell, but the bucks I bred them to sure did. So do Nigerian bucks and so do all does when they are in the same pasture as the bucks. So do you if you are in the same pasture :-) My Nubians were dumb as sticks. My Jacobs are not “goat-like”! Dave said if I’d get rid of the goats, I could have all the sheep I wanted. I got rid of the goats and I have all the sheep I want.
    I sure wouldn’t go with Pygmy goats if I was interested in milk. You might as well milk your Jacobs.
    I milk for my neighbor sometimes. She used to have Nubians and switched to Saanens. The Saanens are great – quiet, gentle, and more than 1/2 gallon a day (more if you are a better milker than I am) of milk.
    Good luck! Have fun! AND – have you lost your mind?

  5. Marla Says:

    I had two Nubian/Alpine does for a couple of years — I bottlefed them from teh time they were 48 hours old. They did not smell, and they were way more personable than sheep! My only complaint was that I could not keep them contained. They used to escape every day, and I’d come home from work to find them lounging on the hood of our car, or on the hood of our neighbor’s car. One time a meter reader from the electric company came to the house to read the meter, and the goats jumped onto his truck. He stayed at my house for a couple of hours because he didn’t know what to do to get them off!

    I gave them away for all of the above reasons, but I miss them. I used to go for long walks in the woods with my dog, and the goats would hop over their fence (sheep fencing – no good with goats) and accompany us. They stayed at my heels while the dog bounded away into thickets and streams. Goats make wonderful pets. I would love to learn how to milk them, if I could only keep them confined on my own property.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

